Nice EscapePod today, awsome closing music

As I usually do, I enjoyed this week’s installment of EscapePod, the story, as they typically are, was good, but what really made my joy levels rise was the inspiring closing music, “I Feel Fantastic” by Jonathan Coulton.

I’m not a real fan of Coulton, while I find his lyrics imaginative, they typically strike me as childish, and his music style is not really in line with my typical preferences in music. “I Feel Fantastic”, however, seems to be an exception, its a smart and funny song, the music placing you in a comfortable, happy and joyous atmosphere while the lyrics drive cynical arrows through your heart.

Well done. I enjoyed this.

2 thoughts on “Nice EscapePod today, awsome closing music

  1. I enjoyed the closing music also – I had never heard of Coulton before. Right after listening to the podcast I popped onto his website, downloaded a few of is free tracks, and dropped five bucks on an album.

    I haven’t felt the urge to explore any new music or buy any new albums since the RIAA went bug-nutty, but even if Coulton doesn’t end up clicking with me at least I may have finally woken up to a way to find new music without being made to feel like I’m committing some crime…

  2. I can’t say much about discovery of new music, I’m lucky enough to have a friend who is a big music maven and bothers to send new stuff my way, but I can say I’ve heard good things about http://www.pandora.net (though I hear it was closed for non-US citizens), and also I have the following link to musicians who make CC-licensed music on my “to check out” pile:
    http://www.paulandstorm.com

    If all else fails, you can click of the “Music” tag of my post to see what other people have to say about the matter…

Leave a Reply

