Quick list of open-source webmail clients

Cory Doctorow recently wrote about Mailpile, an Indiegogo-based effort to fund development of a new open-source web-based E-Mail client.

I really have to wonder, does the world really need another such client? Here is a bunch of them:

  • Roundcube – Written in PHP with a moderm AJAX UI.
  • The Horde Project – Not only provides E-Mail, but a full groupware suit.
  • Zimbra – Not only provides a client but also a full server that can replace Microsoft Excange.
  • SquirrlMail – Includes a rather old style UI, but seems to be very popular. Most web hosting providers support installing it directly with their site management tools.
  • Mailr – Not very pretty, but written with Ruby On Rails, if you don’t want to run PHP.
  • And many, manymore.

I’ve been running my own mail sever for years. In my view, that is where the bigger  problems are, the constant flood of spam and other E-Mail attacks, seems to have led most internet service providers to block all E-Mail sent from anyone who doesn’t look like a large service provider. When running my own server I’d often find out that my mail get rejected unless I relay it through such a provider.

One thought on “Quick list of open-source webmail clients

  1. I think Vteddy could be mentioned in this list. Is a new open source webmail client written in php. It has useful functionalities, for example you can link emails to business objects such as Invoice, Cases,Calendar, etc. You can find it at: http://www.vteddy.com/
    I used it during a recent internship in a software company.

Leave a comment